The page content begins here

Archive second Schatzalp workshop 2017

14 to 17 March 2017 in Davos, Switzerland


More than 110 submitted abstracts and almost 20 invited keynote speakers allowed us to compile an exciting programme that broadly covers the state-of-the-art research on induced seismicity.

Click here to see and download the PDFs of all talks and posters presented at the workshop and confirmed for publication.


Understanding and managing induced and triggered seismicity remains a major challenge for many georesource applications around the globe. Recent incidents, changes in risk perception of societies and regulators, but also novel applications require advances in the scientific understanding of induced seismicity as well as validated frameworks for implementation, mitigation and risk governance.

The second Schatzalp Workshop on Induced Seismicity continues in the tradition of the highly acclaimed first workshop conducted in 2015. The focus of this scientific workshop will be on discussing the state of the art and future directions in all aspects related to induced seismicity.


  • Case Studies
  • Understanding and Modeling of Induced Seismicity
  • Scaled Experiments
  • Monitoring and Analysis of Induced Seismicity
  • Risk Governance, Societal Acceptance, and License to Operate

Keynote Speakers

  • Gail Atkinson   University of Western Ontario, Canada
  • Stefan Baisch   Q-con GmbH, Germany
  • James Dieterich   University of California, Riverside, USA
  • William L. Ellsworth   Stanford University, USA
  • Tomas Fischer   Charles University, Czech Republic
  • Domenico Giardini   ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Harsh Gupta   National Geophysical Research Institute, India
  • Susan E. Hough   U.S. Geological Survey, USA
  • Ernst Huenges   GFZ Potsdam, Germany
  • Brice Lecampion   EPF Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Annemarie Muntendam-Bos   State Supervision of Mines, Netherlands
  • Hiroshi Ogasawara   Ritsumeikan University, Japan
  • Paul Segall   Stanford University, USA
  • Gunter Siddiqi   Swiss Federal Office of Energy, Switzerland
  • Evelina Trutnevyte   ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Stefan Wiemer   Swiss Seismological Service, Switzerland
  • Mark D. Zoback   Stanford University, USA





Sponsor: BFE


Sponsor: SCCER-SoE


Sponsor 17: Destress


Sponsor 17: EnergieSchweiz


Sponsor 17: Geobest