The page content begins here

Earthquake Monitoring

The monitoring network completed by the end of 2019 will consist of seven measuring stations. Five surface stations (COLLE, PERON, SAVIG, SALEV, CERNS) and two borehole stations (CHALL and FORET) have been set up in the Geneva Basin area (in both Switzerland and France), adding to the Swiss National Seismic Network's SGEV station and the French National Seismic Network's OGS2 station in the area being monitored. Most of the surface stations listed are equipped with broadband seismometers, but SGEV and CERNS are strong motion measuring stations fitted with accelerometers. Another accelerometer has been installed at the CHALL well site.

When exploratory drilling is carried out, the SED's monitoring network will temporarily be consolidated by measuring stations run by the University of Geneva. Data gathered by these stations will be recorded by the SED in real time.

Seismometers of the basin of Geneva

Seismometers of the Geneva Basin